YouTube icon
Facebook icon
Twitter icon

AccessVision Wins Regional Awards

Each year, the Alliance For Community Media Central States Region salutes the best community programming with a regional contest, the Philo Festival Of Media Arts Video Competition. AccessVision has once again been honored with two "Philo" awards for its programming.

AccessVision volunteer producer Dave Morgan was a Finalist in the Political Awareness (Non-Professional) category for his show, "A Little Bit Left, A Little Bit Right with Dave Morgan And Tim Hill". In this series, the Chairman of the Calhoun County Democratic party and Republican Emmett Township Supervisor discuss issues affecting our community and interview local leaders from the hot seat. "A Little Bit Left, A Little Bit Right with Dave Morgan And Tim Hill" airs on AccessVision channel 17 every Thursday at 8 p.m. and on Mondays at 1 p.m.

AccessVision Projects Coordinator Jason Augenstein also won a Finalist award in the Promo (3:00 or less) (Professional) category for "We Are Battle Creek". This short video was produced with the Battle Creek Community Foundation and led into a larger campaign by the Community Foundation to celebrate its 40th anniversary. "We Are Battle Creek" sends a positive message that working together, with the Battle Creek Community Foundation's support, Battle Creek will continue to be a vibrant community for the next 40 years. The video can currently be seen in rotation on AccessVision and online at

“It’s exciting for AccessVision and the Greater Battle Creek Area to receive these awards on behalf of the hundreds of volunteer producers" according to AccessVision's Executive Director Dale Geminder. "This speaks highly of the content of these programs and the quality of work by these volunteers and the AccessVision staff.”

With 26 categories including community event, original short film, public service announcement, government coverage and many more, awards were presented at an awards ceremony at Public Media Network in Kalamazoo on October 11th.

The Philos are a recognition of excellence in non-commercial cable access programming from Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan and Ohio. The awards are named after Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of the first receiving tube for television transmissions.