YouTube icon
Facebook icon
Twitter icon

AccessVision Wins Regional Awards

Each year, the Alliance For Community Media Central States Region salutes the best community programming with a video contest, the Philo Festival Of Media Arts Video Competition. AccessVision, the Battle Creek area's community television facility, has once again been honored with two "Philo" awards for videos created by its volunteers and staff.

Fred Dixon was a Winner in the Promotional Video (3:01 or more) (non-professional) category for “Fort Custer National Cemetery Volunteer Honor Guard”.

Jason Augenstein and Alysia Timm were Finalists in the Promotional Video (3:00 or less) (professional) category for “Community Action - Erica”.

Philo Winners, Finalists and nominees were recognized at an awards ceremony held at WKTV in Grand Rapids on October 17th.

“It’s exciting for AccessVision and the Greater Battle Creek Area to receive these awards on behalf of the hundreds of volunteer producers and individuals who use AccessVision” according to AccessVision's Executive Director Dale Geminder. "This speaks highly of the quality of work done by volunteers and the AccessVision staff.”

Both videos can be viewed on AccessVision’s YouTube channel, AccessVision Connect:
Fort Custer National Cemetery Volunteer Honor Guard
Community Action: Erica

Philo Awards won by AccessVision producers this year also recognize the power of community media to benefit local non-profit organizations. Philo winner Fred Dixon has volunteered over 130 hours during the past 9 months to produce several videos for the Fort Custer National Cemetery, The Battle Creek Regional History Museum and Battle Creek Pride. Community Action’s “Erica” promo video Finalist was one in a series of twelve professionally-produced promotional and fundraising videos that AccessVision Projects Coordinator Jason Augenstein has created by working with Community Action since 2018.

With over 250 entries in categories including community event, original short film, public service announcement, government coverage and many more, the Philos are a recognition of excellence in non-commercial cable access programming. The awards are named after Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of the first receiving tube for television transmissions.